Glitter Wolf Album Art


“Boom Tic Boom has a razor-sharp precision that recalls classic drummerled ensembles of 50 years ago — the music of Art Blakey, Art Taylor and Max Roach come to mind — but Ms. Miller’s band works from a diverse sonic palette that is unmistakably contemporary.” –Wall Street Journal

Allison Miller’s Boom Tic Boom celebrates their 10th anniversary with the release of their new album Glitter Wolf on Friday, February 1, 2019 with label The Royal Potato Family.

Produced by Julie Wolf, Ani DiFranco, and Carly Simon, Miller’s fifth studio album features all-star lineup with Miller on drums, and her bandmates violinist Jenny Scheinman, cornet player Kirk Knuffke, clarinetist Ben Goldberg, upright bassist Todd Sickafoose, and pianist Myra Melford. Front and center on Glitter Wolf are both Miller’s deft drum work and compositional adeptness portraying Boom Tic Boom’s raw, but refined propulsive energy.

Extraordinary drummer and composer Allison Miller is in a constant state of motion. Whether guesting with the 8G Band on Late Night with Seth Meyers, working as the musical director for dancer/choreographer Camille A. Brown, or performing with the likes of Natalie Merchant or Artemis (with Renee Rosnes, Cécile McLorin Salvant, Anat Cohen, and others), Miller’s frenzied flow is that spark of creative energy perfectly suited for her singular band, Boom Tic Boom.

Similar to a New York City subway car tussling passengers around until it breaks out of a tunnel that rides alongside the Brooklyn Bridge in the midst of a stunning sunset, Miller’s latest cinematic arrangements are reflective of organized chaos. There is always an urgency to move the music forward while interspersing moments of introspection and sheer beauty.

On her latest studio album Glitter Wolf , Boom Tic Boom celebrates its 10th anniversary as a stalwart ensemble whose kinetic chemistry is defined by years of touring and dedication to Miller’s vision as a bandleader. With an unflinching devotion to progressive movement, it should come as no surprise that the majority of Glitter Wolf’s 10 original compositions were scribed while in transit on the MTA subway.

The band hit the studio for the Glitter Wolf sessions at the famed Fantasy Studios in Berkeley, CA following a two-year stint of extensive international touring. The six-piece’s live stage synergy undeniably sculpts Glitter Wolf’s rapture suspending listeners to the edge of their seats as they’re intensely fixated on each player’s every move.

Collectively, Boom Tic Boom’s strength-in-numbers approach to Miller’s arrangements churns out works that are dynamic, idiosyncratic extremes. While each musician is an acclaimed artist in their own right, Boom Tic Boom together is a riveting ensemble not easily categorized by genre as they commandeer spontaneous grooves and melodically rich compositions unlike many instrumental bands. Glitter Wolf also features a host of special guest percussionists, including John Santos on “Valley Of The Giants,” John Hatfield on “Malaga,” and David Flores on “Glitter Wolf.”

Glitter Wolf is defined by the importance of self-acceptance and our collective need for community in an incredibly unpredictable time. We are faced with uncertain circumstances occurring around the world that have become a catalyst for empowering actions initiating historical progress through efforts such as the #MeToo Movement and Black Lives Matter.

At the heart of Glitter Wolf’s compositions are multifaceted themes of dichotomy. From erratic governmental policies inspiring rightful protests, embracing the varying degrees of the feminine and masculine from within, living a fulfilled yet challenging life, to the musical juxtapositions of space versus density, Miller’s writing covers it all.

Leading up to the national release of Glitter Wolf, Miller has been in the spotlight with an array of distinguished accolades like having the title track from her latest studio recording Otis Was A Polar Bear on NPR’s venerable list of “The 200 Greatest Songs By 21st Century Women+.”

Miller was featured with NPR’s “Jazz Night In America’s” video short, “More Than Keeping Time: A Melodic Drumming Demo.” Watch as Miller skillfully demonstrates the concept of “melodic drumming” using her drums and cymbals and a new piece of technology to mimic Duke Ellington’s “It Don’t Mean A Thing If It Ain’t Got That Swing” (you can view the video here). Miller also joins bassist Derrick Hodge as “Artists-In-Residence” at Monterey Jazz Festival 2019.

For detailed information regarding the 10 original songs featured on Glitter Wolf, please see the following Track-By-Track descriptions. To view a comprehensive list of Boom Tic Boom’s forthcoming tour dates, please visit:

Allison Miller’s Boom Tic Boom
Glitter Wolf
Release Date: February 1, 2019

Track Listing:
1. Congratulations And Condolences
2. The Ride
3. Malaga
4. Zev – The Phoenix
5. Daughter And Sun
6. White Wolf
7. Welcome Hotel
8. Vine And Vein
9. Glitter Wolf
10. Valley Of The Giant