New Various Artist Collaboration Album Due Out September 4th with LAW Records 

New Album Will Help Fund Nowell Family Foundation Opioid Recovery Facility

Bradley’s House! 

Los Angeles, CA (July 21, 2020) — LAW Records, in conjunction with The Nowell Family Foundation, are due to release a very special compilation, The House That Bradley Built, on September 4th, 2020. The new compilation features never-before-released acoustic covers from the catalogue of Bradley Nowell’s band, Sublime, performed by 20+ bands. Profits from the record will go to The Nowell Family Foundation to build Bradley’s House, a rehab center in Southern California named after the late Sublime frontman Bradley James Nowell.

“Bradley James Nowell died of a heroin overdose on May 25, 1996. It was a devastating loss for his family, friends and fans,” comments Jim Nowell, Bradley’s father. “From this pain, came a burning desire to help others who battle with opioid addiction to overcome the disease before it takes their lives. That’s why we started the Nowell Family Foundation,” he states.

The Nowell Family Foundation has a mission to build and sustain Bradley’s House, a 6-bed opioid recovery center for economically disadvantaged and struggling musicians, and to offer free services while musicians recover. Jim “Papa” Nowell reflects, “The vision for Bradley’s House is to create a place of hope and healing for people in the music industry. A place where creativity can be an outlet for transformation. A place where passion can be a motivation for change. A place where music can be a source of strength.” With the new compilation, The House That Bradley Built, musicians donated their time and music to take a stand against opioid addiction and to help support those battling addiction.

A true celebration of the prolific songwriter’s life, the compilation highlights the Cali-reggae rock scene Bradley Nowell helped establish through his mainstream success. In the wake of his untimely death, Bradley along with his band Sublime influenced a generation of musicians who continue to sonically blend mixtures of punk rock, ska, and reggae. Some of these inspired artists featured on the compilation include G. Love, Pepper, HIRIE, The Expanders, Common Kings, The Skints, and Trevor Young (SOJA).

The forthcoming release comprises reimagined versions of songs connected with Bradley and Sublime. Punk rock notables Descendents contributed an ukulele rendition of their song “Hope,” a song Bradley covered on 40 Oz. to Freedom. Reggae legend Half Pint performs his song, “Lovin’,” which was the original sample for “What I Got” (Sublime). Additionally, Jim Lindberg of Pennywise donated a cover of “Boss D.J.” (Robbin’ the Hood).

The release will kick off with two singles, both due out July 24th. Lead single “Work That We Do” (Robbin’ the Hood) is performed by Pepper, whose influence can be traced to Paul Leary (Butthole Surfers), co-producer of Sublime’s self-titled album. The second single is “Little District” (Sublime Acoustic: Bradley Nowell & Friends) by Long Beach Dub Allstars, a rotating cast of all-star musicians that includes Sublime artist Opie Ortiz and drummer/DJ Marshall Goodman (aka Ras MG). The compilation closes out with a special duet of The Melodians’ classic “Rivers of Babylon” (Sublime Acoustic: Bradley Nowell & Friends) sung by Bradley’s son, musician Jakob Nowell, and Bradley’s father, Jim “Papa” Nowell.

Reflecting back Papa Nowell says, “This compilation album is a tremendous gift from our friends at LAW Records. Their tireless effort and generosity are astounding. And the response from the music community has been overwhelming. We are so grateful to LAW Records for bringing together these talented artists to pay tribute to Bradley and help open the doors of Bradley’s House.”

He continues, “Bradley’s music lives on in the hearts and minds of his fans and fellow musicians. Through the combined effort of everyone who has been touched by his music, Bradley’s House will happen. People will be transformed. Lives will be saved. And it will truly be the house that Bradley built. Thank you all for helping to keep my son’s music alive.”

In advance of the new album, LAW Records will be releasing two singles every week leading up to the September 4th release date. The new records will be available digitally everywhere you stream music and also for the audiophile collector as a 180 gram collector’s edition record.


 Pepper “Work That We Do” ►

Long Beach Dub Allstars  “Little District”►

Track Listing

  • Common Kings – “Garden Grove”
  • Descendents – “Hope”
  • Long Beach Dub Allstars – “Little District”
  • Half Pint – “Lovin’”
  • Love – “April 29th, 1992”
  • Pepper – “Work That We Do”
  • Johnny Cosmic – “40 Oz. to Freedom”
  • Trevor Young of SOJA – “Santeria”
  • HIRIE – “Saw Red” (feat. Jason J.)
  • Mad Caddies – “New Song”
  • The Skints – “Get Ready”
  • Cydeways – “Let’s Go Get Stoned”
  • The Movement – “Get Out”
  • Leilani Wolfgramm – “New Realization”
  • Ballyhoo! – “S.T.P.”
  • A.R. – “Badfish”
  • Vana Liya – “The Ballad of Johnny Butt”
  • The Expanders – “Scarlet Begonias”
  • Jim Lindberg of Pennywise – “Boss D.J.”
  • RAS 1 – “Right Back”
  • Tunnel Vision – “Pool Shark”
  • Nice Mike – “Don’t Push”
  • Bert Susanka of The Ziggens – “Big Salty Tears”
  • Jim and Jake Nowell – “Rivers of Babylon”

About Nowell Family Foundation

Inspired by late Sublime front man Bradley Nowell, the Nowell Family Foundation provides addiction recovery services to the music community through the combined strength of the industry and those who have been touched by the power of music.

The Nowell Family Foundation is raising funds to open Bradley’s House, a six-bed recovery facility that will provide treatment for people in the music industry with opiate addiction, regardless of their financial situation. The goal is to offer a top level of clinical care, including medical detox and the ability to treat the most acute cases, through nationwide partnerships.

The Nowell Family Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) public benefit corporation.